“Born to Run” – A must read for everyone!

I’ve just finished reading the book “Born to Run” by Christopher McDougall and it’s absolutely fantastic! I got to know the book when I was looking for some inspirational books to read before my first marathon. I already had so many books on my list so I didn’t quite get to read it in time, as the marathon was almost 2 months ago…Anyhow my girlfriends sister left her copy at our place and I picked it up and started reading. 3 days later I was done with all of the 366 pages. I don’t know about you but for me that’s a lot in 3 days!

The swedish version of the Book

The swedish version of the Book

I first thought the book was going to be about a guy who likes running and his feelings about it and him going to find some other people, even tribes that have almost been forgotten, that also share his love for running. But I was soon to be proven wrong! This book gave me huge inspiration to go running, I actually ran to work, on day two of reading (22km)n and after my day was done I ran home (22km)!

Okey I had to walk a bit on the way home as it was almost 30C and I ran out of water at about 10km. So I did a whole marathon spontaniously out of inspiration!

 I’m also looking into barefoot running, of which there’s a lot of talk about in the book. Stories about the tribes in Mexico running in sandals made of tyres and people running marathons and what-not barefooted!

Tarahumara sandals made of tyres

Tarahumara sandals made of tyres

Well, other than inspiration, the book is packed with intresting facts about history, amazing stories, insights of human anatomy and mind-blowing links to our evolution! At times I actually had to put the book down just to suck in the facts that I’ve just read. I got a whole new picture of what our body is made for, how we are designed to work and what we are able to do with it!

Our body is designed to run! Not fast, but far and for a long time! Remember to keep running a fun thing and not just as an exercise! Look at how children play! They chase each other, they run around and have fun doing it! The oldest fun we had is running! So remember to keep it fun!
born-to-run-christopher-mc-dougall-copper-canyon-ultra-marathon-03I strongly recomend this book! As it is very inspirational, educational and right-on punch in the face Mind Blowing! As amazon.com puts it on their list of 100 books to read in a lifetime I have to narrow it down to at least Top 50! Right now It’s among my favorite 5 books!

Have fun and run!

2 thoughts on ““Born to Run” – A must read for everyone!

  1. Nice post – I loved the book too.
    It definitely helped debunk some of the ‘wisdom’ we’ve been taught by American shoe companies about what feels natural for footwear. I’ve been using minimalist Vibram five-finger shoes for years and had much fewer injuries as a result.

    • Just bought a pair myself and they feel great! I was also curious about the Luna-sandals Barefoot-Ted makes so I ordered those as well 😛 I’m in need for new sandals anyway so these ones will be interesting!

Leave a Reply

