Bend over and give me a high five!

I realized a high truth yesterday biking home from work! It really gave me an A-ha experience. You know how professional cyclists have an extremely compact posture while biking? It’s made to understand that this is to make them go faster…aerodynamics or what not…I don’t buy this..It might give you a slight advantage, but yesterday I realized the truth! Bugs! And lots of Bugs!! If you’re tired and have your mouth open you really get the taste of a bug’s life…

So there I was…minding my own business feeling happy cycling in the sun after work and listening to an audiobook from my phone an suddenly a bug hits the back of my throat! I got so surprised I didn’t know if I needed to breath in or out! I think I got the bug out…

Surfin' Right in to the throat of people!

Surfin’ Right in to the throat of people!

Let’s just say after that I kinda kept my head down and my mouth shut, UNTIL, 10km later I had my head up again because there was a lot of traffic and the road was narrow and then it hit me. No it really hit me! Felt like someone threw a tennis ball into my face! A huge bug flew right into my eye! Fortunately I had sunglasses on but the impact was pretty strong it hurt my neck! I can only imagine how the bug felt!

This was probably the huge thing that hit me! :P

This was probably the huge thing that hit me! 😛

So if this wasn’t enough for one ride to learn to keep my head down third-time-say’s it all! This time there was the “cloud” of tiny bugs. You know the ones that stay in a sun-lighted spot. Well going at my speed they we’re so tiny so I did not see them. I had learned to keep my mouth shut which was good but let’s just say I got spray painted with bugs caught on my sweaty face and arms.
So the lesson learned here is to bend over and keep your head down if your biking! It’s not to gain high speed it’s really if you’re going at a high speed!

I haven’t talked about running at all. Well I’ve been so occupied with cycling lately. I started to run about a year ago. Or really just decided to…but then I signed-up for the Stockholm Marathon at the end of May this year! I got a great time! 3.30.35. My goal was just under 4hours so I was really happy! Anyway I’ll get back to my runnings later..I wanna take up something I discussed with my girlfriend as we we’re running. You know how bikers (motorbikers) salute when they drive past each other? At least they do this in Finland. But when you’re running or out with your bike people don’t do that here..

I told my girlfriend it would be a nice gesture to wave or why not give a high-five when you meet someone that is running as well! I’ve tried to smile and give a small nod, but I never get any answer..People seem angry while running..there’s really not many smiles out there. I think of it as an encouragement if someone smiles, nods or imagine a high-five! If you’re tired and then high-five a by passer it’s great encouragement! That’s what they do during Marathons as well! People standing on the side of the track shouting and applauding, kids reaching out for a high-five it’s just wonderful! Why can’t we do this to each other when we’re out training or just jogging for fun?
So please! next time you’re out on a run and you meet a fellow runner at least smile and nod your head! Or why not give a thumbs up? Encourage each other to do the great work you’re doing! And remember to have fun doing it!

When work is fun, you’ll get the reward for having a blast!

Encourage each other!

Encourage each other!

 

Leave a Reply

