Road Rage!

I’ve biked to work two times now. It’s been bad weather so haven’t been able to use the bike as I wanted. Well it arrived last Thursday I did use it on Friday, Monday and Tuesday was rainy, did bike yesterday and today I had to take the car because I had to bring some stuff back and forth…

Le Bike

Le Bike

Anyway…driving to work I always get stressed or angry. I don’t honk or pass people like a maniac but sometimes I do shout out loud by myself (or sometimes when my girlfriend is with me). You know when it’s everyone else’s fault you started driving 5 minutes later than usually and then every red light hits you and you’re like: “OH my god! Thanks to YOU I missed the green light…” Or “HOW can a person drive 79km/h when it’s 80km/h!!!”.

10552610_791718707526944_1528705189635607842_nI’m sure almost everyone can say they felt like this at some point. It doesen’t even matter who drives the other car it’s always the “typical slow driver”. “Of course a woman”, “Of course an old man”, “Of course a … guy with sunglasses”…whatever. Someone says: but hey leave home earlier? and you’re like WTF I have carefully counted my every turn to make it to work exactly at 9am when I’m supposed to!

 

Ok so when you’re biking to work, or anywhere, there isn’t a lot of traffic. You’re on your own! If you’re late it’s because you didn’t go up that hill fast enough or you didn’t get up early enough. It’s a pretty good feeling competing against yourself. I don’t get angry at me? I don’t shout out loud to myself when I’m on the bike.. I bite my teeth together and go faster up that hill! I know there’s downhill afterwards to I can’t wait to get that reward to chill and feel the wind go by! According to Sportstracker it’s 22,6km from my house to my workplace and it takes about 50minutes for me to go there by bike. It takes me about 20min by car. But these 22,6km aren’t hard on bike. It is actually a great day to start the day. Only thing bad about it is getting up 45min earlier than I would when going by car. But during those 50 min on the car only racing against time by myself really gets my thoughts going! When I’m in my “road rage” mode all I can think of is the car in front of me. Why is it so hard to relax when driving in traffic? I don’t always hate the car in front of me though… it’s really only when I’m late myself. I find I’m in a better mood and more energetic when I go by bike though. By bike I also save money!

There is a saying that goes something like:

“Driving a car burns money and makes you fat,  going by bike saves money and burns fat!”

To this I should add that It’s also good for the environment! So hopefully I get more sunny days so I get to use my bike more!

Stay cool and be safe on the road!

Usually I wear sunglasses and a helmet.

Usually I wear sunglasses and a helmet.

2 thoughts on “Road Rage!

  1. Woo! Cycling is the best feeling ever. I get to work with my bicycle faster than I do in the bus. Mostly because I live only about 4-5km’s away and it’s a busy road in the mornings, but it still feels great. Sometimes I’m even faster than some cars.

    • Yupp specially inside the city I often pass the same cars as they wait for the lights, and on roads where the km/h isn’t that high I tend to race them just for the fun of it 😛

Leave a Reply

